This page has two jobs. First, it explains every line printed on the pouch we sell, what each ingredient is, and what the research does and does not say about it. Second, it lists the headlines we run, tells you which ones are exaggerated, and separates the few things that are genuinely supported from the many that are not.
You almost certainly arrived here from an advertisement. The headline you clicked was written by us and paid for by us to appear next to real news stories. It was designed to make you stop scrolling. Several of our headlines overstate what science actually shows.
Everything on this site is a paid advertisement for a product we sell. If you buy through a link on any of our pages, we are paid a commission. That is the reason this site exists.
The product is a raw cacao drink mix in a resealable pouch, sold by Earth Echo Foods, LLC of Boulder, Colorado, as a dietary supplement. The serving is 8 grams of powder — about 2.5 teaspoons — stirred into a drink. It is not a medicine, it is not meant for any medical condition, and no study has ever tested this blend on memory, focus or anything clinical. The pouch's own front panel prints its claims with an asterisk that walks them back to the standard statement that follows: the government has not evaluated them. No supplement on this page is a substitute for your own clinician.
If you are genuinely worried about your memory, the single most useful thing you can do is book an appointment with your own clinician. That costs you nothing from us, and a proper conversation about sleep, hearing, medicines and daily habits is worth more than anything we are selling.
| The headline as you saw it | What is actually behind it |
|---|---|
| "The Chocolate Spoon My Retired Neighbor Stirs Into Her Coffee. I Read the Pouch." | Story, not a claim The pouch is real and every number in the column comes from its label; the retired teacher is a composite, and the column is a dramatization built on the seller's listing and published reviews. |
| "Raw Peruvian cacao with turmeric, MCT and black pepper" | Broadly supported The label prints all of these, in this order of weight: cacao first, MCT powder second, and turmeric, cinnamon and black pepper inside an 11-line, 7.88-gram proprietary blend. |
| "8 grams a scoop, 35 calories, under 1 gram of sugar" | Broadly supported Taken line by line from the Supplement Facts panel: serving 2.5 teaspoons (8 g), calories 35, total sugars less than 1 g, added sugars less than 1 g. |
| "Ceremonial-grade cacao from a single farm in Peru" | Partly true The seller's listing says this, and we found nothing contradicting it. But "ceremonial grade" is the cacao trade's own term, not a government grade — there is no official definition, threshold or certificate behind it. |
| "Supports mental focus, boosts your energy, reduces cravings" | Exaggerated These three claims are printed on the front of the pouch, each with an asterisk that refers to the standard FDA disclaimer. No trial has tested this blend on focus, energy or cravings. We do not repeat them as findings, and neither should you. |
Because they work, and that is exactly the problem. Curiosity-framing stops the scroll better than honest framing does. We keep the honest version of our claims here so you can compare it with the ad side by side.
Our ads lean on the taste and the ritual because that is the honest, ordinary experience of this product: a dark, barely sweet chocolate powder that stirs into the coffee or milk you already drink. The clinical questions around cacao, turmeric and the rest are real but separate, and the right referee for your shelf is your own clinician.
What we can say plainly: this pouch delivers a food-based blend, with its nutrition facts measured and printed, in a form that fits a mug. That is the whole honest claim.
The first and biggest line of the blend · Early
A food with a thousand-year history as a bitter, spiced beverage, and a modern research file built on gram-scale cocoa-flavanol drinks standardized in laboratories. The headlines run well ahead of the data, and this pouch prints no flavanol figure at all, so its scoop cannot be set against those trials.
Cacao first of eleven lines, all foods, under a gram of added sugar. Taste well documented by reviewers; thinking, energy and cravings not tested in any trial of this blend.
Our ads quote the column's story, and the story is a dramatization. Here is the plain truth: no doctor, no panel and no medical society has endorsed this page or this pouch. The seller's own asterisks walk back every claim on the front panel to the standard statement — not evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration — and that sentence outranks every other sentence we print.
None of our ads should be your health information. If you are worried about your memory, these are the signs that warrant a clinician visit: new trouble finding words week after week, getting lost in familiar places, asking the same question twice in an hour, sudden changes, or family noticing before you do.
Bring every bottle on your nightstand to that appointment. If you take anything daily, the cacao conversation happens with the pouch on the table. A pharmacist can often adjust more than you expect.
Every line printed on the label, in order, with what it is and what the research says.
The fermented, dried seed of the cacao tree, ground without roasting or alkalizing; the raw material of chocolate, rich in flavanols and a source of a little caffeine and theobromine.
Traditional and everyday use. Drunk as a bitter beverage in Mesoamerica for millennia; the powder in a supplement is a flavor and a source of flavanols.
What the research says. We did not register a memory trial of cacao for this page. Three hundred milligrams is a small pinch, about a tenth of a teaspoon; the flavanol trials in adults used gram-scale cocoa drinks.
Amount per serving in Cacao Bliss. not stated (part of a 7.88 g blend) (raw ceremonial-grade Peruvian cacao, the first and heaviest line of the blend)
Good to know. Safe as a food. It carries a trace of caffeine and theobromine; the product is labeled caffeine-free because the amount is negligible.
A light, pale oil made by joining glycerol with two medium-length fatty acids, caprylic (C8) and capric (C10), which are separated out of seed or vegetable oils, most commonly coconut and palm kernel oil. In a liquid supplement it dissolves the fat-soluble CoQ10.
Traditional and everyday use. Used in foods as a source of fat; the FDA has reviewed a notice for its use as a fat source in infant formula (GRAS notice 1049).
What the research says. A carrier, not an active ingredient; no claim.
Amount per serving in Cacao Bliss. not stated (part of a 7.88 g blend) (the coconut fat the seller credits with keeping you satiated)
Good to know. A food fat, amount not stated on the label. Made from coconut or palm kernel oil: check the label if you avoid either.
The fruit of a plant native to southern China. Its extract owes its sweetness to compounds called mogrosides and, depending on how much of them it holds, is reported to be 100 to 250 times sweeter than sugar, so a trace sweetens a whole bottle without adding calories.
Traditional and everyday use. The FDA has not questioned the conclusions, submitted in several notices, that its extracts are generally recognized as fit for use as general-purpose and tabletop sweeteners.
What the research says. A sweetener; no claim.
Amount per serving in Cacao Bliss. not stated (part of a 7.88 g blend) (the sweetener; total sugars stay under 1 g per serving)
Good to know. Used in trace amounts to sweeten; nothing specific at these amounts.
A plant of the ginger family grown across India and Southeast Asia, whose orange-yellow underground stem is dried and ground into the spice that colors curry. Curcumin is the compound that gives it its color. In this blend it appears as small dried pieces.
Traditional and everyday use. A cooking spice and a dye for thousands of years, and a fixture of Ayurvedic practice.
What the research says. In an 18-month trial of 40 adults aged 51 to 84, a highly bioavailable form of curcumin (90 mg twice daily) was associated with better verbal memory, visual memory and attention scores than placebo.[1] That was a patented, concentrated preparation taken as a supplement, not turmeric steeped in water, and the National Institutes of Health states both that we don't know enough to conclude whether turmeric is beneficial for any health purpose and that harm to the organ that processes what you swallow has been reported in some people who took highly bioavailable curcumin formulations.[2] A pinch of turmeric in a cup of tea is the culinary kind, not the studied kind.
Amount per serving in Cacao Bliss. not stated (part of a 7.88 g blend) (culinary root powder, not a concentrated curcumin extract)
Good to know. Culinary amounts are widely used. Turmeric can cause nausea, reflux and stomach upset; concentrated bioavailable formulations have been linked to harm to the organ that processes what you swallow.[2] It may add to the effect of anything that thins the blood. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
The dried inner bark of tropical trees, rolled into quills or broken into chips. Two kinds are sold: Ceylon or "true" cinnamon, grown mainly in Sri Lanka, and cassia cinnamon, the most common kind in North America. This tin does not say which one it uses.
Traditional and everyday use. A kitchen spice on every continent and the sweet note in chai.
What the research says. The National Institutes of Health states that research doesn't clearly support using cinnamon for any health condition. We make no claim for it here.
Amount per serving in Cacao Bliss. not stated (part of a 7.88 g blend) (kitchen cinnamon; the pouch does not say Ceylon or cassia)
Good to know. Cassia cinnamon contains coumarin, and prolonged intake of high-coumarin products is a concern for the organ that processes what you swallow; Ceylon cinnamon carries only a trace. Since the tin does not say which kind it uses, ask your doctor before drinking it daily if you take anything daily.
The dried unripe fruit of a climbing vine native to the Malabar coast of India, ground on nearly every table in the world. BioPerine is an extract standardized to 95 % piperine, the alkaloid that gives pepper its bite; a level teaspoon of ground pepper holds well over 100 mg of piperine, dozens of times the amount in this capsule.
Traditional and everyday use. Traded along the spice routes for two thousand years. The extract is added to supplements because piperine slows the breakdown of some other compounds in the gut and in the organ that processes what you swallow, so more of them reaches the blood.
What the research says. No trial of this ingredient on memory or attention in healthy older adults is on file. Descriptive only.
Amount per serving in Cacao Bliss. not stated (part of a 7.88 g blend) (the seller says it raises the bioavailability of the turmeric "by up to 2,000%")
Good to know. The same property that makes it a "bioavailability enhancer" means piperine can raise blood levels of certain daily medicines; ask the pharmacist if you take anything daily. Amounts in food have no known concern.
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. This information does not constitute medical advice and it should not be relied upon as such. This product is not a substitute for medication or other treatment prescribed by a physician or health care provider. Consult your doctor before starting any dietary supplement.
It is a cacao drink mix that behaves like one, with 35 calories and under 1 gram of added sugar per scoop. Sweetened hot chocolate it is not — reviewers who expected candy sent theirs back under the 60-day terms.
No trial has tested this blend on memory, focus or anything else the front panel asterisks. The cacao flavanol literature is about laboratory-standardized cocoa drinks, and this pouch prints no flavanol figure to compare.
A labeling category: the total weight of the blend (here 7.88 g) is printed, the amount of each ingredient is not. Order runs by weight, so cacao is the biggest share — but no line carries milligrams.
That question belongs to your clinician, with the pouch on the table. Turmeric and pepper both have known conversations to have with things that thin the blood, and kitchen-size amounts are still worth mentioning.
This guide is part of the advertising page it links from. It exists because the ad that brought you here did not tell you the whole story.
If you remember nothing else: the pouch is honest chocolate with a short label, the cacao carries food and tradition rather than proof, and your clinician outranks both of us.